Sunday, July 19, 2009


Cyprus is situated in the eastern Mediterranean, south of Turkey, west of Syria, Lebanon, and Israel, east of Greece, and north of Egypt with a total population of 784,301.
It is third largest island, and one of its most popular tourist destinations, attracting over 2.4 million tourists per year.A former British colony, it became an independent republic in 1960 and a member of Europian Union since May 1, 2004.
I stayed in really huge Le Meridien hotel in Limassol, with huge area of swimmingpool, playing area, restaurant and disco house.I was really satisfied with my stay, i meet also 2 filipinas working in that hotel they very nice.
Limasol is the main port and an essential tourist's choice. It is the center of the wine production and also well known for its extensive hotel accommodation in and around the city.
You know what i noticed in the sorroundings? cats! a lot of nice cats, i like cats but I have to take care they have such shap nails! They are just wild cats, you cant touch them.
The Greeks are Greek Orthodox Christians which represent 78% of the population while the Turks are Muslims represents 18% of the population and Maronite, Armenian, Apostolic, Latin, and others 4%.
Weather and Climate
Cyprus has a typical Mediterranean climate, warm and rather dry, with rainfall mainly between November and March. In general, the island experiences mild wet winters and dry hot summers which are separated by short autumn and spring seasons. The higher mountain areas are cooler and moister than the rest of the island.
Cyprus LanguagesThe official languages are Greek and Turkish with English often used as a second language and widely understood by both ethnic groups.
Cyprus CurrencyThe official currency in North is Turkish Lira (TL) and the currency in South is Pound (CP) however the English sterling is highly accepted.
Currency in South Cyprus
The legal tender of the South Cyprus is the Euro. Former Cyprus Pound was used until 31 December 2008. Check current exchange rates.
Currency in North Cyprus
The Turkish Lira (TRL - Türk Lirasi) is the current legal tender of Turkey and Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, issued on January 1, 2005. The currency was accompanied with its inflation mostly in 1994; in summer 2001 seven banks failed. At present unit of 1 YTL is equivalent to 1 million old Turkish Lira that was introduced in 1983 (and remains valid until the end of 2005). The Turkish Lira is divisible into 100 new kurus (cents).
voltage is supplied at 220/240 volts AC, supplied at 50 Hz. Plugs at 5 amp or 13 amp are generally of British type with 3 pins, but also exist some 2 pinned.
is two hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT/UTC), and seven hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST). Clocks go forward one hour for summer time at 3 am on the last Sunday in March and back again at 3 am on the last Sunday in October. In South Cyprus a recorded time message can be heard by dialling 193.

No comments:

Post a Comment